Living Donation Discussion and News > Living Donation Forum

Invitation to publish your story about living donation

(1/3) > >>

egordon:
Hi all,

My name is Elisa Gordon and I am a social scientist putting together a special issue of the journal, Narrative Inquiry in Bioethics on living donation. Too little is known about the experiences of living donors. So my goal is to help potential donors and clinicians in the future to better understand the range of concerns and issues that donors encounter.

I am writing to invite living donors to submit their stories of donating for publication in the journal.

The guidelines for submitting a story can be found at the journal website:
http://www.press.jhu.edu/journals/narrative_inquiry_in_bioethics/guidelines.html

Thank you in advance!

I look forward to receiving your stories.

Best wishes,
Elisa Gordon

Sarah in Maine:
Thanks for sharing this opportunity, Elisa. 

Do you have any "prompt" questions that you are hoping the personal narratives will address? There are at least a zillion areas on which I could focus or tailor my one personal story. 

Also, I hope you will be sure to include stories from donors with physical or mental complications from the donation, not just those with more positive experiences. 

--Sarah

PhilHoover:
thanks for the invitation.

egordon:
Thank you both for your interest in contributing to this journal. I am most grateful for the opportunity to share your important donation experiences through putting together this journal.

Here is a bit more information that may help you as you consider preparing your narrative. First, I recommend that you take a look at the guidelines. The guidelines can be found at:
http://www.press.jhu.edu/journals/narrative_inquiry_in_bioethics/NIB_Call_LivingOrganDonation.pdf