| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: Donor with GFR 53 but transplant center would have gone forward--some questions  (Read 4204 times)

Offline EileenS

• Conversationalist
  • I'm new!
I'm new to this forum.  I was scheduled to be a non-directed kidney donor on 10/27/20.  All tests prior to surgery were completely normal until my preop testing 5 days before surgery showed a GFR of 53 and on repeat the next day it was 59.  Based on this I declined to proceed.

My transplant center has since advised me that they would have proceeded with surgery because they tell me there is nothing wrong with my kidneys since my creatinine and creatinine clearance were normal.  I am shocked by this.  I am a nurse so I have a decent understanding of this medical information.  I have since done some further research about pre and post GFRs.  I see that NIH guidelines recommend donors have a preop GFR of at least 80, preferably greater than 90.  I am very concerned that my center would have taken me to surgery.  Other donors may not have the medical knowledge to know what their lab values mean and may  proceed with surgery that is really not safe/advisable.  I'm worried about donor safety at this center (and possibly others based on some stories I have read on here) and I want to do something about it.  Anybody know where to start?  I see that HSRA is the federal agency responsible for oversight of transplant centers but other than that I really don't know what to do, who to talk to, etc.  My gut tells me ultimately this would likely need to be a legislative change since "recommendations" from federal agencies and "guidelines" don't seem to be having much effect.

Offline Fr Pat

• Top 10 Poster!