| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: Should I Stay or Should I Go?  (Read 9295 times)

Offline Jewels

• Top 25 Poster!
Should I Stay or Should I Go?
« on: March 07, 2011, 09:54:47 AM »
Hello!  This is my first time posting, so first a huge thank you for allowing me to read all the helpful posts for the last couple months!  I have passed the first phase of testing to donate to my sister (adopted) that lives 2000+ miles away from me. My local PCP has been faxing results to my sisters transplant center.  Things definitely seem to be dragging out a little because of the distance.  I am moving into the next phase for CT, psych eval, social worker, surgeon meeting and I would really appreciate some feedback from anyone who has done this at a local transplant center versus traveling long distance to go through this at the recipients transplant center.  There would be substantial cost involved as I would need bring my 2 kids with me for the trip (airfare x3.) I am willing to do this if the benefits are there.

The testing piece does not concern me, but meeting the transplant team and their ability to answer my specific questions about the surgery, insurance, after care, etc does.  Is this the time that these types of questions are normally addressed?  I have thought of requesting a conference call with the team.  For my comfort I would like to have some kind of relationship with the transplant team prior to arriving for final tests and surgery.

Thank you for your feedback - from those who were donors long distance and local!
-j
Living Kidney Donor, to my adopted sister
July 15, 2011

Offline audrey12

• Top 50 poster!
Re: Should I Stay or Should I Go?
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2011, 10:44:30 AM »
Hi, welcome and congratulations for making the decision to donate.