| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: Blood Pressure - Predonation  (Read 10952 times)

fredpeh

Blood Pressure - Predonation
« on: February 23, 2011, 04:34:37 PM »
Hello everyone!
I've been reading all the posts for months but this is my first time posting.  I am an Eastern Orthodox priest in the Pittsburgh area being tested as a kidney donor for one of my parishoners.  He is a young father with three little children and while I am somewhat apprehensive (I was initially terrified!), I am determined to do this to help this man live and be a Daddy to his kids. 

I'm coming to the end of the testing process:  been through just about everything with no problems.  I am 52, healthy, exercise regularly, no medical problems at all.  During the testing process my blood pressure was high:  150.  It's never been high in my entire life, I know it was from the anxiety since I was feeling quite anxious as I met the surgeon, nephrologist, etc. for the first time.

The transplant people recommended that I wear a 24 hour blood pressure monitor just to be sure.  The blood pressure for the entire 24 hour period was fine:  115-125 except for two instances which were 150 and 160.  I distinctly remember what happened when it was 150:  I was agitated and upset about something.

The nephrologist said that overall my blood pressure is fine but these two readings are a concern but they won't cause me to be rejected as a donor.  I'm relieved:  I want to do this for this man after coming this far along in the process. 

My question to anyone who might know:  is this a cause for concern?   I know there is a possiblity for high blood pressure after donation.   (I've read everything I could possibly read about kidney donation, including articles from the New England Journal of Medicine)