| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: potential out of country donor  (Read 3977 times)

Offline meiling

• My first post!
potential out of country donor
« on: May 19, 2013, 10:48:23 PM »
I am new to LDO, considering being a kidney donor to my cousin.  I meet the initial requirements of having same blood type and being in generally good health, so I didn't hesitate to offer.

My concern is he lives in the West Indies and I live in New York, which kinda makes things a little complicated but not impossible.  My cousin is currently at Stage V renal disease.  Although asymptomatic, his doctor has requested that all potential donors start screening right away so when the time comes, they can move right away.  I'm not sure how to start the screening process.  I know I would need blood work, EKG, ultrasound, etc.  From what I've been reading, out of state donors receive a kit and have been in touch with the transplant coordinator/team.  In my case, though, since I am out of the country, do I contact the transplant coordinator in the West Indies?  Can I just go to my PCP and get orders from her?  Some of the tests are routine, so my insurance should be able to cover them.... or do I get my cousin's health insurance info before I start screening?

If I pass all the tests and am approved to donate, I will have to fly to the West Indies for the surgery. 
My other concerns are:
- how long will I have to remain in the W.I.?
- when can I travel back to NY post-op?
- will my health insurance cover post-op visits here?

Also, other concerns are long term effects:
- will donation affect my life expectancy?
- what are dietary restrictions?