| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: Big Belly :-)  (Read 7042 times)

Offline gbug12001

• Top 200 Poster!
Big Belly :-)
« on: May 10, 2012, 07:25:57 PM »
It's been 3 weeks after donation.  I'm doing great. I've slowly started back to my old exercise program.. yoga, weights and jogging.  What is bugging me is the lower belly, I guess you would call it swelling.  I've read that it may take a while for it go away.  I wonder if Ice will help it go away..

Is it swollen.. It cant still be gas can it?  I'm just being impatient

On another note.. The Dr.'s released my brother, they told him to go home and enjoy life.  What a great experience this has been.

Jacqui

Offline Fr Pat

• Top 10 Poster!
Re: Big Belly :-)
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2012, 07:48:00 PM »
     I would suspect that it is fluids rather than gas as (if I undestand it right; I'm not a medical professional) the body uses fluids to help fill the empty space where the kidney was until things shift around again. Also perhaps the skin stretched from the initial bloating and takes a while to get back to normal after the fluids have reduced? Anyway, I think that the regular exercise, stretching, etc. is probably the best help. I don't see how ice would help, but might be worth trying. Please let us know how things go, as a lot of donors have had the same problem.
    best wishes,
       Fr. Pat

Offline dodger

• Top 25 Poster!
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2012, 11:20:16 PM »
Congratulations on the donation and how wonderful for the recipient.