| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: Hi, new here  (Read 4495 times)

Offline MissFrizz

• Top 25 Poster!
Hi, new here
« on: August 31, 2011, 12:37:21 PM »
Hello, I just wanted to introduce myself.  My father is 71 and has been on the transplant list for 3 years and he has been on dialysis.  He initially said that he did not want a living donor, but as time goes on and his health becomes more complicated, I am more and more compelled to help him.  I am just beginning the process of figuring out what the right thing to do is.  I am waiting for a return phone call from a donor coordinator to answer my questions.  I'm learning alot by reading your posts here.  Any further advice you could offer would be appreciated.

Thank you,
Miss 
Stephanie

"Courage is being scared to death and saddling up anyway." - John Wayne

Offline MissFrizz

• Top 25 Poster!
Re: Hi, new here
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2011, 08:42:31 PM »
So, I got the return call from the coordinator and I'm expecting a packet in the mail full of instructions, information, and my first Rx for the initial screening tests.  The good news is that my father's insurance covers all of it, but they do not notify him that I am being screened.  I just don't want him to know in case I'm not a match.
Stephanie

Offline bergstromtori

• Top 50 poster!
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2011, 10:35:56 PM »
Good luck with everything!  I also have little kids, but not quite that little.  They are 9, 7, and 5.  I am donating on Tuesday.  The good thing is that they will all be in school.
The donation is being made because I wish that someone could have done something like this to save my moms life.  I am not going to let a disease take my friend from his three kids the way my mom was taken from me, my brother and sister.

Offline Fr Pat

• Top 10 Poster!
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2011, 03:44:53 AM »
Dear "Miss",