| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: New to this...  (Read 4754 times)

On the fence

New to this...
« on: January 19, 2012, 12:29:47 PM »
Well to start off I am new to this as of a few days ago so I apologize if I ask questions that should be easily found or do not use the correct terms.  To make a long sorry short, a very close friend of my mother is in need of a kidney transplant and after the first possibility came up as not being compatible my mom has gone in for testing to see if she is.  I am also considering doing the same, especially if my mom is either not able to be a donor or not compatible.  I guess I'm mainly concerned with the what the health effects are and what changes in my life I would have to make going forward.  I feel like I sound selfish here but the fact that I am willing to make changes in my life to help a close friend kind of negates those feelings...

Health:
I'm a healthy 30ish year old with no previous health issues other then having psoriasis and I was hospitalized a few years ago with pneumonia.  I'm 5'9" and aprox 135lbs.  I smoke about a half to a pack a day.  I get off work and have a drink or two daily and sometimes get pretty intoxicated on the weekend.  Some would say I'm an alcoholic I would like to say I have fun and live a realistic life.  That debate is for another day.  I'm only throwing this out there because I think it's relevant and am wondering how much I have to change to have a chance to save someone I care for.  Other then that I live an active life and would like to think I eat healthy and live healthy.

I realize I'm not talking to a doctor.  I'm just looking for input from a non doctor input before I make the next step to the doctor input part of this difficult decision.

Offline Scott337

• Top 25 Poster!
  • You may never know the burdens others carry
Re: New to this...
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2012, 04:57:50 PM »