| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: Introducing myself  (Read 5564 times)

nakidra78

Introducing myself
« on: August 03, 2011, 11:38:12 AM »
Hello all!  My name is Tara. I'm an 33 year old wife and mother of 3 young children and as of July 18, 2011 a living kidney donor to my wonderful mom!!  I'm so proud to say that! 
We had our surgeries at Northwestern Memorial in Chicago.  We live in the Chicago burbs. 
I'm 3 and 1/2 weeks post op and still recovering.  I'm back at work this week, I'm an attorney, but it's been a bit of a struggle to stay awake and fully "with it" for the last couple of days!  I still have discomfort and look like I'm about 5 months pregnant! 
I'm a runner so it's been hard for me to slow down.  My doctor said that I could "briskly walk" so I've been doing that for the last couple of days.  It's almost like a really slow jog.  It hasn't been easy, but I'm getting back to myself, slowly....  I am wondering how long I'll have this abdominal swelling and discomfort...  I'm not worried, yet, but I will be if I still feel/look like this is a week or two. 
I just wanted to introduce myself and say hi to all.  I've been lurking ever since we decided to have the transplant ... this is a great group.
Tara 

Offline sherri

• Top 10 Poster!
Re: Introducing myself
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2011, 11:55:11 AM »