| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: Living Kidney Donor Follow Up  (Read 7992 times)

Offline Donolenick

• My first post!
Living Kidney Donor Follow Up
« on: August 14, 2012, 12:04:05 AM »
Hello this is my first post.  I am a liver donor having donated in  2005 and, after some involvement in donor issues at my center I was nominated to serve on the Living Donor Committee (the "LDC") for UNOS on which I have been serving for 2 years.  I want to update the donor community on the status of a policy proposal requiring reporting on follow up status of living donors.  This past year the LDC approved 3 new policies envigorating the standards transplant centers must follow, including medical evaluation of living donors, informed consent and follow up reporting on living donors.  These policies were approved by LDC last winter and then underwent a public comment period and were reviewed by the Regional Committtees which approved them by a substantioal majoritiies.  I am focussing on the  the proposal on follow up of living donors because it has been the most controversial.  This new policy would require transplant centers to report to UNOS the status of living donors at 6 months, 1 year and 2 years from donoation.  The purpose is to encourage centers to keep track of the medical, social, employment and psychological status of donors and to develop data on the affect of donation.  The policy would require centers to report the following at  three intervals:

1.  Alive/Dead (Cause if known)
2. Hospital readmissions for donor related complications
3.  Need for dialysis (Yes/No)
4.  Development of post-donation diagnoses: hypertension, diabetes, cancer, other
5.  Loss of income or livelihood due to donation
6.  Loss of medical or life insurance due to donation
7.  Lab work-serum creatinine and urine protein