| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: Anyone Know How to Calm the Nerves?  (Read 6587 times)

Offline Johnny_t

• Top 200 Poster!
Anyone Know How to Calm the Nerves?
« on: February 03, 2012, 03:45:04 PM »
I am donating my kidney so that the love of my life can have a better quality of life.  I am a bit nervous about going in for surgery, but I have no doubts on my decision to donate.  I think I'm more nervous about the anticipation of going in to surgery than the surgery itself.  Anyone have any suggestions?  Also, I am a college student getting ready to graduate this June and classes resume 10 days after my surgery.  Is it likely that I'll be able to make it to class?

Offline sherri

• Top 10 Poster!
Re: Anyone Know How to Calm the Nerves?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2012, 04:31:35 PM »
Nervousness before surgery is very normal, especially an elective surgery. I found good ways to calm myself was with walking, exercise, journal writing, massages and just talking to other donors here on LDO. It is hard for related (whether by blood or not) to talk to their recipients because you don't want to make your recipient uncomfortable. Donation surgery is a little outside the box from other surgeries where the risks and benefits are so clear. Do you have a supportive family member or friend with whom you can share your thoughts? How about the transplant team? Is your coordinator helpful? Can you call the social worker or psychologist who evaluated you?