| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: Preparing for donation  (Read 4157 times)

Offline Brok10

• My first post!
  • I'm new!
Preparing for donation
« on: September 17, 2013, 03:18:49 AM »
Hello,
I am new here and I have just started my preliminary process for a paired kidney donation program. I am not a match for my recipient, and I guess I have many questions for those who have donated. I have sent my blood work and initial health information to where it needs to be, but having trepidation on the next part of the process, and I suspect the process in general. Just general fear I guess it is of life pre donation, and life post donation, the surgical process, and recovery. And all of those questions in no particular order. I am a generally very active and healthy woman who is 40, with no children, I work as a nurse, and I am paired with my ex-husband and we are on excellent terms. My parents and partner are not supporting my decision because they do not understand why I would donate, and they fear for my health. I am hoping to have some first hand experiences to alleviate their fears and my own. Mine being mostly life post donation I guess. Any ideas, information, or just thoughts is readily welcomed.... Thank you

Offline elephant

• Top 10 Poster!
Re: Preparing for donation
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 09:34:47 AM »
Dear Brok10,

There are plenty of people here who will understand your compassionate desire to donate. 

We've all had to face our own fears and those of our loved ones.  Many people become less fearful as they are educated about living donation.  I think it is important to fully understand the risks and to be prepared for the impact of this major surgery, both short and long term.