| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: Seeking Living Donors' Opinions about Donor Education and Informed Consent  (Read 5333 times)

Offline egordon

• Top 200 Poster!
Hi all,

I am a social scientist preparing to write a grant to the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) on helping living donors prepare for living donation. PCORI grants are designed to be patient-centered.  I am asking living donors (both potential donors and those who already donated) on this listserv for information to help me prepare this grant.  I am not doing research.

Specifically, informed consent is a legal and ethical requirement for living donors. Studies show that many living donors are not satisfied with the education and informed consent process, do not feel that clinicians disclose enough information, or that donors do not fully comprehend that information. My goal is to improve the education and informed consent process to make sure that donors are optimally informed and prepared to donate.  I am writing to ask your help to learn what is important to you.  Your feedback will be very much appreciated!  I have 3 sets of questions:

Set 1:
1.   What surprised you about being a living donor?  What weren’t you aware of?

2.   How would you like to change the education and informed consent process?

3.   What do you wish you were told that you learned after donating?

4.   How would you like your health care professionals to communicate information to you?

5.   How would you change the delivery of information to potential donors?
a.   There are lots of ways to communicate information to potential donors e.g., through face to face discussions, pamphlets, booklets, videos, websites, web-based games and quizzes, smart phone mobile apps, etc. Which way would you think would be helpful to you or preferred by potential donors?