| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: Invitation to publish your story about living donation  (Read 9942 times)

Offline egordon

• Top 200 Poster!
Invitation to publish your story about living donation
« on: April 19, 2011, 11:45:50 PM »
Hi all,

My name is Elisa Gordon and I am a social scientist putting together a special issue of the journal, Narrative Inquiry in Bioethics on living donation. Too little is known about the experiences of living donors. So my goal is to help potential donors and clinicians in the future to better understand the range of concerns and issues that donors encounter.

I am writing to invite living donors to submit their stories of donating for publication in the journal.

The guidelines for submitting a story can be found at the journal website:
http://www.press.jhu.edu/journals/narrative_inquiry_in_bioethics/guidelines.html

Thank you in advance!

I look forward to receiving your stories.

Best wishes,
Elisa Gordon

Offline Sarah in Maine

• Top 100 Poster!
    • Maine Land Law LLC, PA
Re: Invitation to publish your story about living donation
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 09:44:41 PM »
Thanks for sharing this opportunity, Elisa. 

Do you have any "prompt" questions that you are hoping the personal narratives will address? There are at least a zillion areas on which I could focus or tailor my one personal story. 

Also, I hope you will be sure to include stories from donors with physical or mental complications from the donation, not just those with more positive experiences. 

--Sarah
-- Sarah in Maine
Donated my left kidney in NEPKE's "list exchange" in October 2008 allowing my mother to receive a deceased donor kidney in November 2008.

Offline PhilHoover

• Top 25 Poster!
I'll gladly send my story..
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2011, 03:09:35 AM »
thanks for the invitation.