| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: Kenya: Giving a Kidney Is Rewarding - Donor Encourages People to Save Their Rela  (Read 4789 times)

Offline Clark

• Administrator
  • Top 10 Poster!
  • Please give the gift of life!
    • Living Donors Online!
http://allafrica.com/stories/201403180634.html

Kenya: Giving a Kidney Is Rewarding - Donor Encourages People to Save Their Relatives
BY JOHN MUCHANGI

Your relative is dying because their kidneys have failed, and you probably have an extra one: should you donate it? Well, the decision varies from person to person. While some make the decision instantly with few worries, others will critically talks with friends and family members first.

Jane Wangechi made up her mind instantly. "I had seen what my sister went through during dialysis. I asked myself, I am a journalist and I always find myself in risky situations. If I were to die today, wouldn't my two kidney rot while my sister is left suffering?" she says.

She donated one of her kidneys to her sister Millicent Njeri in January last year at at the Indraprastha Apollo Hospital in New Delhi.

Millicent was diagnosed with a kidney disease at the age of 12, but the condition was managed with medication. The kidneys however failed completely in 2009 after giving birth to her daughter.

"I watched as tubes were inserted into her body during dialysis at Kenyatta National Hospital. I used to stay away from the ward each time I took her to hospital."

Wangechi decided to donate her kidney immediately doctors made the suggestion. "I smsed my mother at 7am telling her I want to give Millicent my kidney. I told her: I don't want anyone to tell me anything, just pray about it," she says.

Blood blood tests showed the two were compatible. "I did not tell my friends I was donating. I revealed it after the operation in India. The Bible tells us to be our brother's keeper."