| LDO Home | General | Kidney | Liver | Marrow | Experiences | Buddies | Hall of Fame | Calendar | Contact Us |

Author Topic: New here, Approved Donor/Matched, need advice please  (Read 3976 times)

Offline ASB

• Top 200 Poster!
  • I'm new!
New here, Approved Donor/Matched, need advice please
« on: March 20, 2014, 05:24:57 AM »
I wish I had thought to look for a living donor forum (I'm a kidney donor) before now. I'm happy to have found this site and have enjoyed reading several threads so far.

I was matched with my recipient online. I just finished all testing and am approved. I count my blessings that my recipient is healthy and works hard to maintain the health of her kidneys. We get on well, which is nice too.

My question: I have plenty of information about restrictions after donation, but not much information for preparation before. I am very healthy, not on any regular medication and eat well - organic, low fat, no simple sugars, no soda, etc. -- But is there something more I can do to ensure my kidneys are in the best shape possible come the donation? After all, I'll be left with only one and I want the one going to her to be as healthy as possible too. I've steered clear of kidney cleanses, etc. because I certainly don't want to do anything to compromise them.

Any advice (or thread bumps too!) would be appreciated, especially about diet/certain beneficial foods.

Thank you all, Addie

Offline elephant

• Top 10 Poster!
Re: New here, Approved Donor/Matched, need advice please
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2014, 07:38:47 AM »
Dear Addilyn,

Congratulations on your good health, may it continue for many, many years. 

If your health is appropriate for a kidney donor, you are probably already eating a very good diet. 
I used to take NSAIDs, and stopped that some weeks prior to donation, since donors are advised to avoid them.